Victorian Speed / revenue cameras

For topics unrelated to bush walking or to the forums.

Victorian Speed / revenue cameras

Postby Moondog55 » Wed 03 Jun, 2015 1:09 pm

I just got back from the Magistrates court
On my trip home form the hill in late September I got clicked by the revenue cameras on the Western Ring Road
After more than a few letters between me and the camera office I decided to take it to court.
I'd advise anybody who has a letter for an offense less than 10% over the posted limit to take it to court
Charge proven but dismissed, so I lose a point but don't pay a fine
I've been driving for just on 45 years and it has only been with the introduction of these damned cameras that I have lost any points or had a fine of any sort.
Worst sort of law, making normally good citizens into petty criminals and a source of revenue for politicians to waste on junkets overseas and their outrageous pensions
While I'm glad I don't have to pay the money I still object to losing a damned point
I fully understand why we are losing respect for the law and the police; as far as i can see the police are becoming just another arm of the state revenue office
Ve are too soon old und too late schmart
Moondog55
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: Victoria

Re: Victorian Speed / revenue cameras

Postby Zone-5 » Wed 03 Jun, 2015 6:00 pm

I update my Garmin Nuvi car GPS speed/stop camera locations/zones every two weeks Australia wide, so every time I get near one it tells me to check my speed and displays on the map where the damn thing is as I approach it. The thing has saved me that off chance I miss a sign or run a red light!

Powered by a daily-updated database, your GPS knows the locations of:

Fixed cameras
Average speed cameras
Variable cameras
Temporary cameras / roadwork sites
Red light speed cameras Mobile cameras

http://www.garmin.com/au/extras/garmin-safety-cameras/

No tickets or fines for 11 years now...