Help with a Macpac minaret (probably dumb question)

Bushwalking gear and paraphernalia. Electronic gadget topics (inc. GPS, PLB, chargers) belong in the 'Techno Babble' sub-forum.
Forum rules
TIP: The online Bushwalk Inventory System can help bushwalkers with a variety of bushwalk planning tasks, including: Manage which items they take bushwalking so that they do not forget anything they might need, plan meals for their walks, and automatically compile food/fuel shopping lists (lists of consumables) required to make and cook the meals for each walk. It is particularly useful for planning for groups who share food or other items, but is also useful for individual walkers.

Help with a Macpac minaret (probably dumb question)

Postby kibbutzmetal » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 8:58 pm

Hi everyone! First time posting here. Also, probably worth mentioning that I’m very new to bushwalking (of the kind the goes beyond a day trip out of Sydney), Therefore this will probably be a really dumb question… Anyway, now that I’m trying to get into more challenging stuff, I went and got myself a Macpac minaret, to do multiday bushwalks. Tried doing a practice pitch, because up to this point I’ve never pitched a tunnel tent, and right away something doesn’t seem to make sense: poles go in the sleeve through one end, but the other end seems sealed shut and I can’t put that end of the pole through the eyelet. This seems weird and unstable… can anyone with experience with this tent tell me what I’m doing wrong??
kibbutzmetal
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: New South Wales

Re: Help with a Macpac minaret (probably dumb question)

Postby Moondog55 » Wed 26 Apr, 2017 9:12 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTHaEQX6jxw

Sorry Not really much help. My Minaret doesn't have the new captive end pole sleeves so I'm not much help
Ve are too soon old und too late schmart
Moondog55
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: Victoria