Tent advice for beginner to multi-day hiking.

Bushwalking gear and paraphernalia. Electronic gadget topics (inc. GPS, PLB, chargers) belong in the 'Techno Babble' sub-forum.
Forum rules
TIP: The online Bushwalk Inventory System can help bushwalkers with a variety of bushwalk planning tasks, including: Manage which items they take bushwalking so that they do not forget anything they might need, plan meals for their walks, and automatically compile food/fuel shopping lists (lists of consumables) required to make and cook the meals for each walk. It is particularly useful for planning for groups who share food or other items, but is also useful for individual walkers.

Tent advice for beginner to multi-day hiking.

Postby abbztract » Thu 02 Nov, 2023 7:21 pm

Hey, all!

Hoping to get some advice on gear and tent advice since I'm new to long / multi-day hikes and ultralight-ing.

In 2024, I'm hoping to do the Overland Track and Frenchman's Cap in Tassie, Boronia Trail and part of the Grampians Peaks Trail in the Grampians and some other two-day hikes in summer too.
I'd also like to do some of these in winter for some snow time.

---

The features I'm hoping for in a tent are:

- Available new or second-hand for under $600 AUD or $320 USD.

- Ideally freestanding: I have never had hiking poles so ideally freestanding interior but open to something modular that can go from freestanding to tarp-based.

- 360-degree coverage from the elements so a proper waterproof floor, double-wall body, high sides on the floor. So this could be a light-material inner tent suitable for summer and a removable oversized full-coverage waterproof layer.

- Ideally around 1kg or less.

- Enough space for two people and some gear.

- Compact when packed up, of course.

I really like these but are out-of-budget so alternatives would be amazing:

- ZPacks Duplux Zip - $699USD - $1250 AUD - Not freestanding but great deep floor and nice size.