Foraging for Wild Food

Food topics, including recipes.

Foraging for Wild Food

Postby TerraMer » Fri 19 Jul, 2013 2:23 pm

Does anyone forage while walking, like for edible weeds, plant medicine and bush tucker?
I'm getting into it but am wondering where people learn what is edible and how to prepare it.
Have you found joining a foraging/wild foods walk more or less helpful than self-taught from reference books?
Is there a good online reference or forum with photos and explanations that someone can recommend for Australian foraging?
thehappywalkblog.wordpress.com
Solo unaccompanied walk around Australia
Sponsored by The Australian Geographic Society
TerraMer
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

ASSOCIATED ORGANISATIONS: The Happy Walk
Region: Australia

Re: Foraging for Wild Food

Postby GPSGuided » Fri 19 Jul, 2013 3:06 pm

This has a lot of info. ;)
http://bit.ly/15rwmF3

Otherwise all I know is to pay decent respect to wild mushrooms. Too many have been seriously poisoned both here and overseas.
Just move it!
GPSGuided
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: New South Wales

Postby wayno » Fri 19 Jul, 2013 3:13 pm

http://bushtuckerman.com.au/#

nz isnt very good for finding a lot of food, unless you like eating weta's
from the land of the long white clouds...
wayno
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: New Zealand

Postby Maelgwn » Fri 19 Jul, 2013 3:16 pm

We eat quandongs if we happen to stumble upon them.

And the odd blackberry if they haven't been poisoned. ;-)
Maelgwn
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Region: South Australia

Postby GPSGuided » Fri 19 Jul, 2013 3:20 pm

LOL on Bear Grylls! I still can't work out how he got enough calories on his adventures.
Just move it!
GPSGuided
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Postby wayno » Fri 19 Jul, 2013 3:22 pm