Photographing the Moon

Cameras, tripods, techniques, etc.
Forum rules
Please note that the extended image rules for the Gallery forum also apply here.

Photographing the Moon

Postby whynotwalk » Tue 08 May, 2012 10:02 am

Moon3.jpg
Full moon, Sunday May 6th.
On Sunday night I stumbled out to wee the dog, and this is what I saw :shock:

I raced inside, got the tripod, camera and long lens (Canon EF 70-300mm L IS) and snapped a few photos. With cropping, sharpening and other tweaking, one or two came out okay. The one above was at 1/160 sec, f5.6, and ISO 100.

Do any of you photo boffins have suggestions for how to improve that kind of shot :?: ... and "use a Nikon" is not the kind of thing I mean :!: :roll:

cheers

Peter
Solvitur ambulando (Walking solves it) - attributed to St Augustine, 4th century AD.
whynotwalk
Athrotaxis selaginoides
Athrotaxis selaginoides

Region: Tasmania

Re: Photographing the Moon

Postby Pteropus » Tue 08 May, 2012 10:31 am

I'm not an expert but I have found that faster the shutter the better. You get less glare and more detail.

THe photo below is my best moon shot and was also taken on a very cold night in western Queensland back in 2009 with a canon 70 - 300 IS lens (Not L series) with a shutter speed of 1/200, aperture of 5.6 and ISO 100. I can't remember if I used a tripod but I have a reasonably steady hand.

055 the moon.JPG
Pteropus
Athrotaxis selaginoides
Athrotaxis selaginoides

Region: Australia

Postby vagrom » Tue 08 May, 2012 7:50 pm

You can see the spot where the valve pops out!
Surgite et .. andiamo!
vagrom
Phyllocladus aspleniifolius

ASSOCIATED ORGANISATIONS: WalkingSA, Frnd Cleland/Bushcare, Alltrails
Region: South Australia

Postby Swifty » Wed 09 May, 2012 12:47 am