Suggestion to assist Parks/Police with decision making

Tasmania specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Tasmania specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Suggestion to assist Parks/Police with decision making

Postby NickMonk » Sat 18 Feb, 2017 5:05 pm

Hi all,

My day job is with the police.

I am noticing that there have been a number of jobs of late where Parks/concerned community members are calling police to report that a car is parked in a particular bush location, and they have concerns for the welfare of the owner of that car.

Some of these 'concerns' that I have noticed are:
1) "The car has been parked there for 5 days but the track is only a day walk"
2) "There's no walking tracks in the area, I don't know why the car is there."
etc etc

In some cases the concern is genuine and warranted. But most of the time it is not. For example I noticed a job today from only a couple of days ago that had been called in by Parks. On further inspection I saw that the car was registered to a well-known mutli-day walker that frequents this forum. Clearly no concern would have been had if anyone involved recognised the name at the time, however no-one did, and there were a number of hours wasted looking into the matter.

Also I have personally intervened in a job where the concern was for a car that had been parked at a 'daywalk' location for several days, and the car ended up being registered to a well-known wilderness photographer (who was out there for an entire week).

I'm sure some of you already consider/do this, but to save the efforts of Parks and Police maybe:
1) Leave a note on your dashboard stating your intentions, especially if parked in a more unusual place or in a place where a multi-day walk is not considered 'normal'. Also particularly for car shuffles!