Desktop version
NSW & ACT specific bushwalking discussion.

Forum rules

NSW & ACT specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.
Post a reply

Lower Kowmung Historical accounts

Fri 30 Jun, 2017 1:28 pm

Hi Forum Folks
Do any of us have any historical accounts of walking the lower Kowmung
now sadly off limits in the Special Areas
Thanks
John

Re: Lower Kowmung Historical accounts

Sat 01 Jul, 2017 12:27 pm

Hi John,

Sorry I can't help with info on historical walking in the Lower Kowmung. But, if you are interested in the history of the area Jim Barrett has written several books on the Burragorang area. Can be a bit hard to find but do make a good read.

Regards,
Michael.

Sat 01 Jul, 2017 5:13 pm

I have no direct experience of the area, johnrs, but I find the 1937 sketch map fascinating.

It shows how different that part of the world was, before the dam. Plenty of walking routes are marked on the map. Sorry my upload is not very good quality - it's from a blurry photo of an interpretive sign at the Kedumba Valley campsite.

20170411_135600.jpg
20170411_135600.jpg (172.85 KiB) Viewed 10340 times

Sun 02 Jul, 2017 12:05 am

Interesting map- Looks like Butchers Creek was called ..ack Hollow Creek.

Gandalf used to walk through there before it was dammed and has shared a few fascinating stories with me- I have told him he should write a book about all his early adventures in this area, Nattai etc.

In addition to Jim Barrett's books there is another (which is about the Kowmung in general- including the Tuglow-upper reaches) called Walking the Valley which I have had for many years.

Clarence

Sun 02 Jul, 2017 12:29 am

clarence wrote:Looks like Butchers Creek was called ..ack Hollow Creek.

The full name on the map is "Butcher's or Black Hollow Creek"

Mon 10 Jul, 2017 6:00 pm