Safe/Unsafe Drinking Water

NSW & ACT specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
NSW & ACT specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Safe/Unsafe Drinking Water

Postby BigBenny » Wed 06 Sep, 2017 4:44 pm

Hello,

I am new to bush walking and hiking and want to get into thru-hiking, camping, and outdoors stuff in general.

As I want to get it to camping I've been wanting to get a water filter (ideally a purifier, such as the Sawyer gravity fed water purifier[1], MSR Guardian [2], or Grayl[3]). From what I've researched, in general, most filters/purifiers are only effective against protozoa, bacteria, and viruses and not really against heavy metals, pesticides, and other chemicals. Most filters/purifiers that claim to work against such use Activated Carbon, but I've read criticisms saying that the process is too short/quick and therefore they are ineffective. Also I have read that Granulated Activated Carbon does not work for a lot of things like arsenic. I was thinking that using a filter/purifier should hopefully be enough.

I have gone on small bush walks, such as parts of the Great Northern Walk. I noticed that there was an are signs warning that the water is not suitable for swimming or drinking and that doing so has resulted in deaths. I also noted there is an area where the government has built ponds to treat the water and it states there's petrochemicals in it and it's not safe for drinking. Walking around there it looks like they set it up so storm water from pipes flows into some ponds, and they let nature clean it up. This got me reevaluating my earlier thoughts about streams being relatively clean.

I've also read of various areas being contaminated from old mines, so that they contain high levels of arsenic or similar.