1 - 2 day walks around Canberra and the greater area...

NSW & ACT specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
NSW & ACT specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

1 - 2 day walks around Canberra and the greater area...

Postby vdhant » Fri 20 Nov, 2009 12:15 pm

Hi guys
Just wondering if anyone can recommend some really good 1 or 2 day hikes around the ACT and the greater area (i.e. into New South Wales). I have been eying off the Castle but I am going by myself (still to find some walking partners) and I've heard it can be a bit hairy... But what other really good walks are out there that are worth doing in this heat. I'm not into hiking for the walking but for the scenery and getting out and about, so there has to be something worth going for. Also I'm a photographer and really like good sights at sunrise and sunset.
Cheers
Anthony
vdhant
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Re: 1 - 2 day walks around Canberra and the greater area...

Postby johnw » Fri 20 Nov, 2009 7:47 pm

What about around the main range and beyond in Kosciuszko NP? Plenty of walk options and great for photography. Hard to beat on a clear day in summer with the views, alpine wildflowers etc. It's usually quite cool up there too (sometimes icy cold/windy, and snow is possible in any season). Will be down that way after Christmas myself and hopefully doing a few day trips. A few ideas to start (all day walks, but you can camp as long as it's not in the catchment of any glacial lake):

Lakes (main range) Circuit
    The Sentinel
    Mt Twynam
    Mt Townsend
    Ramshead Range (off-track)
The guidebook Snowy Mountains Walks (Geehi Bushwalking Club) is a good resource and worth getting.

Don't know about the Castle (I assume the one in the Budawangs, if so I've read similar). An easier walk around there (though steep) is Pigeon House Mountain. Half-day or so with great scenery.
John W