Mt May to Cleared Ridge

Queensland specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Queensland specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Mt May to Cleared Ridge

Postby Bird » Sat 29 Mar, 2014 8:32 pm

Evening all,

This is my first post, but this forum has been a great resource.

I am a teacher at a Brisbane secondary college. Every year I take a groups of students on a four day hike around Mt Barney National Park finishing with a hike up Mt Maroon. We start our hike at the base of Mt May on Waterfall Creek Rd.

Traditionally we hike up the four wheel drive track then take a quick detour up Mt May before coming back down and continuing on the boring road up to Cleared Ridge for lunch (red line below). My questions is whether there is a better (more scenic) route up to Cleared Ridge. I wouldn't mind if there was something that was a bit more of a navigational challenge for my students also. I have marked a track I think would be the most logical (blue track below).

I am interested to know if anyone has approached Cleared Ridge from this direction and whether you have taken an alternative route up.

Thanks,
Bird
Bird
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: Queensland

Re: Mt May to Cleared Ridge

Postby tomh » Mon 31 Mar, 2014 8:41 am

While camping at the Lake Maroon Holiday Homestead I did walk the area behind the Homestead close to (just to the NW) your blue line. Generally easy country - certainly more interesting than the road and a survey would be worthwhile. It is private property so I suggest you ring the Homestead owners on 5463 6256 for access and other information.
Staff at the Maroon Outdoor Education Centre (5463 6333) may also be able to help. There have been keen bushwalking teachers with local knowledge based there in the past.
tomh
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Postby Bird » Mon 31 Mar, 2014 11:29 am

Thanks Tomh,