Mount Barney Routes Ranked

Queensland specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Queensland specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Mount Barney Routes Ranked

Postby Champion_Munch » Sun 05 Jul, 2015 8:14 pm

Hi all,

First of all - I am basically a Barney novice, having only been there a couple of times. My first trip was about 5 years ago, when I did the south ridge to east peak and return. Earlier today I had a shot at south-east ridge to east peak and descent via south ridge (some pics below).

Was just wondering if perhaps some of the more experienced Barney hikers here might be able to help assemble a list of routes on the mountain from easiest to most difficult? I (and perhaps others) would find this very useful, to have an idea of what the next 'step up' is in regards to routes, having now done possibly the two easiest ones. Robert Rankin in his Secrets of the Scenic Rim gives various routes a rating (1-5) based on technical difficulty and exposure, however, this does not take into consideration navigational challenges or other difficulties relating to distance/time required etc, which might factor into which route would be most suitable to tackle next. I have no rockclimbing experience and would prefer to avoid ropes, at least to start with (as I don't exactly know how to use one...).

The south-east ridge was great fun, the views were awesome... particularly loved the razorback section about halfway up. Only had trouble in one spot at a small rock slab that had some water trickling down making it very slippery (Cams has a photo of the rock in question on his blog here, 2nd image down: http://highandwide.com.au/2011/04/27/mt ... ast-ridge/). Some thrilling views of the east face from near the top.
Attachments
059.JPG
Looking down on what I assume is the lower sections of Logan's Ridge
063.JPG
Not far to go now! Half an hour from the east peak
083.JPG
From the summit (or near enough)