Declination and compass configuration

Bushwalking topics that are not location specific.
Forum rules
The place for bushwalking topics that are not location specific.

Declination and compass configuration

Postby darsenator » Fri 07 Dec, 2012 3:06 pm

Hello...

I have a query regarding "How to adjust my compass for declination".
I'll be doing some walking in Bunyip,VIC and as per several websites am aware of the following information.

"Magnetic Declination is the angle between True North and Magnetic North (which is always east (positive) of True North in Victoria)"

The topo~ map I have tells me that the declination is 11 degrees.

My query is, when setting the dial in the compass, does this simply mean that I move it east (right) so the magnetic needle is orienting arrow 'N' is set at "11 Degrees East" ?

I'm just starting to learn about navigation and using compasses so some things are unclear.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.
darsenator
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: Victoria

Re: Declination and compass configuration

Postby Gusto » Fri 07 Dec, 2012 8:06 pm

In Victoria you subtract when converting from Map to land. The reverse applies when going from land to map.

This forum thread has lots of information about it.

http://bushwalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9023
Gusto
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Postby andrewp » Sat 08 Dec, 2012 1:45 pm

When using a map to take a bearing it is actually the angle between grid north and magnetic north that is important. This is known as the Grid Mag Angle. Magnetic Declination refers to the angle between true north and magnetic north. In Victoria the Magnetic Declination it is between about 10 and 13 degrees east, but in Perth it is 3 degrees west and in NZ it is ~25 degrees east. Some maps show the relationship between true north, grid north and magnetic north, other just show grid north and magnetic north.