New to hiking

Bushwalking topics that are not location specific.
Forum rules
The place for bushwalking topics that are not location specific.

New to hiking

Postby discoveryadventure » Sat 07 Nov, 2015 8:18 pm

Hey everyone this is my first post on the forum.
I am new to hiking and really want to get into it more.

Just wondering I am doing Wilsons Prom a five day hike so its my first time carrying tent, food, clothes and water and actually being away for a couple of days. Doing the overland track and hopefully a few others in January.

Just wondering where you all started for basic info and how to get into it on a budget. Second hand gear, clubs, Facebook pages..

Anyone happy to share info on what they learnt when they started out??
What things will I stuff up?
What will I forget?
What are common errors beginners do?

I know I want as little as possible, I want to get to meet and talk to other hikers ad learn from them so please go ahead share your info with me..

Cheers Justin

P.S Im travelling around Australia for a year with a mate so we are going to start doing a lot more hikes
discoveryadventure
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: Victoria

Re: New to hiking

Postby newhue » Wed 11 Nov, 2015 6:12 am

Good on you Justin, bushwalking it's a very addictive and a cheap, clean, healthy interest to get into. It can take you all over the country or world at a fraction of the cost of conventional holidaying. And you will find places that people would pay a $1000 per night happily, and you have all to yourself.