Difficulty/elevation gain is all in your head ?

Bushwalking topics that are not location specific.
Forum rules
The place for bushwalking topics that are not location specific.

Difficulty/elevation gain is all in your head ?

Postby Hallu » Sun 25 Sep, 2016 9:33 pm

Hi everyone,
I've been hiking seriously for 5 years now, in Australia, NZ, the US, Scandinavia, Canada but right now mainly in the French Alps. I wanted to share my views on the fact that the difficulties of a walk will vary highly depending on your state of mind. In the Alps, the hikes I do usually involve 800-1500 m elevation gain in a day. For example, I did a walk yesterday that involved climbing 1070 m in 4 km. That is quite steep, but not uncommon here. Usually the rule of thumb is that you climb 300 m per hour of walking. But in my case, my speed highly depends on my state of mind. For example during that hike, I did the climb in 2h45 min. That was mainly because after 1h, I had great 360° views, walking on a crest. I've realised that once I've passed the treeline and I can see great views, I'll walk quite a lot faster, simply because I'm having fun and enjoying the scenery. I've realised that there are walks that only involve 600 m elevation gain that'll be harder mentally hence physically than walks involving 1200 m.