4.46km/h - That optimal efficiency speed

Bushwalking topics that are not location specific.
Forum rules
The place for bushwalking topics that are not location specific.

4.46km/h - That optimal efficiency speed

Postby GPSGuided » Thu 29 Sep, 2016 8:58 am

Just read this in WIRED on the most efficient speed in walking/jogging.

https://www.wired.com/2016/09/whats-ide ... ve-energy/

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Last edited by GPSGuided on Thu 29 Sep, 2016 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Just move it!
GPSGuided
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: New South Wales

Re: 4.46km/h - That optimal efficiency speed

Postby ribuck » Thu 29 Sep, 2016 4:47 pm

Hahaha, that explains why I so often overtake unfit joggers when I'm just walking normally :)
ribuck
Athrotaxis selaginoides
Athrotaxis selaginoides

Region: Other Country

Postby Hallu » Thu 29 Sep, 2016 7:42 pm

I'm a physicist and bit shocked at that lol. Air resistance doesn't matter if you're walking unless there's strong winds. Also my biggest concern is he didn't included any model regarding the heart rate. Basically when he says "I am going to say that a human uses energy at a constant rate." it all falls appart. He says walking very slow isn't good as breathing/thinking/blinking then takes more energy relative to the walking. I don't believe that's true. What is true is that walking really slowly makes you do short steps that aren't efficient compared to longer steps, that's all. The most amount energy you spend is lifting your legs, so there's an optimal steplength. Nothing to do with breathing or blinking. He assumes the energy required to walk/run is propotional to 1/s with s the length of the stride, there's no way that's true. Also, an elderly woman is recommended to have an intake of 1500 kCal per day (not Cal)... So his 500 is ridiculous, you need at least 3 times that when no exercising at all. It's so messy it makes me angry lol.
Hallu
Athrotaxis selaginoides