Putting up your tent in the rain

Bushwalking topics that are not location specific.
Forum rules
The place for bushwalking topics that are not location specific.

Putting up your tent in the rain

Postby Ticklebelly » Wed 22 Jul, 2020 6:30 pm

I may have the opportunity to walk in Tassie in the new year. My research suggests I may encounter rain (tongue in cheek). Thinking ahead in anticipation of doing a couple of through walks, I have no experience of sustained rain and especially, what do you do if it is pouring and it is time to erect the tent. I normally camp in a hammock and can set up a hammock camp under a tarp but I anticipate having to use a tent on walks like the OLT. Any hints or comments on what to do if it is raining and not likely to stop soon would be appreciated.

TB
Ticklebelly
Atherosperma moschatum
Atherosperma moschatum

Region: Queensland

Re: Putting up your tent in the rain

Postby flingebunt » Wed 22 Jul, 2020 6:40 pm

What sort of tent do you have? Helps to have one where you can erect the fly first, then put up the inner.
flingebunt
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Postby Warin » Wed 22 Jul, 2020 6:49 pm

Step 1: Wait for rain to stop. Or move to pub.

Set 1a: If rain will not stop and no pub around, erect tent fly. This should be practiced first so that the top of the fly is the only thing (other than how you and your gear arrived) exposed to rain. I have found that even tents that 'must be errected fly last' can be erected fly first with enough determination.

-------------------------------
I find erection of the tent is easier than the packing up of the tent ... in the rain. This too should be practiced. The fly should be the last thing 'down' having completed everything else under the cover of the erect fly.