Canyoning raincoat

Discussion about making bushwalking-related equipment.

Canyoning raincoat

Postby toughfeet » Fri 14 Nov, 2014 11:49 pm

The Canyon season is upon us again!
I did my first canyon of the season and I had my goretex raincoat on to block the wind we were getting and also for some more protection going down the wet abseils.
I got to thinking how I didn't really need a breathable waterproof layer because hey, I'm already wet. I just need something to stop the waterfall running down my neck and block the wind.

Was thinking of making a vest out of PU Cordura. I'm very new to this so wanted to check my maths before I order. I'm guessing that my torso and had would be 3 ft and I'm about 1.5 ft wide. If I order 6ft by 2ft of 8oz Cordura will I have enough? And are my maths right when I say that piece of fabric will weigh about 450g?

Anybody made anything like this before that can offer some advice?
toughfeet
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: New South Wales

Re: Canyoning raincoat

Postby Moondog55 » Sun 16 Nov, 2014 6:50 am

Better to get more fabric than run out but why such heavy cloth?
If stopping the water running down your neck is a priority perhaps a hood is needed?
It is a long long time since I did any canyoning ( although we called it Liloing then) but most of the people were wearing thin wetsuits with heavy weight nylon/cotton boilers suits over the top or just shorts when the weather was warm. I don't remember any-one ever wearing PFDs or helmets. So why not just a cheap proofed roadworker style jacket and cut the arms off??
Ve are too soon old und too late schmart
Moondog55
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: Victoria

Re: Canyoning raincoat

Postby toughfeet » Sun 16 Nov, 2014 4:44 pm

Thanks MD.
Good point on fabric quantity.
A good hood sounds like a great improvement. Idea behind the heavy cloth was to be pretty durable as sliding over wet sandy rocks tends to be pretty brutal on clothing and gear.