Navigable file for AAWT

A forum for discussing the Australian Alps Walking Track. This is a 655 km long track from Walhalla (Vic) to Tharwa (ACT)

Navigable file for AAWT

Postby ricknsue » Mon 26 Jul, 2010 3:19 pm

G'day,
I hope someone here can help with this?
I am after a navigable file for the Aust Alps Walking Track that I can load onto my GPS.
We are walking this track in Oct/Nov this year and would like an extra resource mainly for track confirmation. We have all maps, GPS and the Siseman/ Chapman guide book.
Any help appreciated.
Rick
ricknsue
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

AAWT ?

Postby Charlievee » Sun 29 Aug, 2010 9:00 pm

Hi all ; newbie here, but been walking a while. I've done Feathertop, Overland etc... Not the most experienced, but not too green either. I'd just like to know if anyone here has done the Australian Alps Walking track in the last year or so, more specifically the 1st leg (from Walhalla). I've got John Siseman's new book (with the Chapmans). I'm hoping to do the first leg in November and would appreciate any postings regarding this walk. The complete walk is on my "bucket list", but probably over the space of years.... Any way, great site - I hope to become a regular here. Best regards, Charlie.
A man's best friend is his knife, not his dog...
Charlievee
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Region: Victoria

Re: AAWT ?

Postby north-north-west » Wed 01 Sep, 2010 7:49 pm

When you say 'the first leg' from Walhalla, how far from Walhalla do you mean? Chapman's 'first section', to Mt Victor? Or just the first day or two?

The book's pretty accurate on that first section, just be aware that some part of the track across the Baw Baw Plateau is always overgrown - usually the stretch north of the Baw Baw village turnoff is the worst, but you could be pushing through scrub just about anywhere along there, depending on when they last did a bit of gardening.