Dehydrating risotto

Food topics, including recipes.

Dehydrating risotto

Postby bibtracker » Fri 11 Apr, 2008 7:19 pm

:D Hi. I'm new to this excellent group and to dehydrating.
As my experience grows, I'd like to dehydrate a risotto (not a meat one).
Any reason why not? And has anyone done it successfully?
You would, of course, have to protect it from anyone else sharing your campsite and planning to eat a packet meal for dinner!

Cheers, Tony.
bibtracker
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Re: Dehydrating risotto

Postby corvus » Fri 11 Apr, 2008 9:25 pm

G'day bibtracker,
For sure you can dehydrate risotto including ones with meat content but meatless will be better however don't condemn the add boiling water to the bag brigade (which I am one of) as I spent many years dehydrating all sorts of meals some good some not so good and now that I am in my lightweight mode I just use the add hot water thing :)
collige virgo rosas
corvus
Vercundus gearus-freakius

Region: Tasmania

Postby frank_in_oz » Sat 12 Apr, 2008 10:12 am

Hi bibtracker,
We always dehydrate a few meals and have been pretty successful (now we have learnt to cut up any meat REALLY small - or use mince) 1 cm cubes of chicken breast take a long time to rehydrate! (we now use minced chicken)

Have a few photo's on our blog of what we have done but I reckon one of the best resources is a US site called Freezer bag cooking. This is the link to the rice dishes section http://www.freezerbagcooking.com/dinnerricedishes.htm
Frank
Check out "Our Hiking Blog" Overland Track guide, Food to Go-recipe ideas and Trekking to Everest Base Camp.
frank_in_oz
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Postby bibtracker » Sat 12 Apr, 2008 11:36 pm

:| Greetings.
Thanks for the replies, guys.
I'm certainly not knocking the add boiling water brigade ... I've joined it. I have Sarah's book and the print-outs from her web site (and a pot cosy to fit Aussie freezer bags).