Sony RX100

Cameras, tripods, techniques, etc.
Forum rules
Please note that the extended image rules for the Gallery forum also apply here.

Sony RX100

Postby TwoDuck » Fri 22 Apr, 2016 6:36 pm

Hi all
I am considering getting this camera based on forum discussions on here and elsewhere, and am aware that there are multiple models available. Given I am a complete novice photographer, are there any features on the MkIV or III that you think are essential, or super desirable, that the Mk II wouldn't have? I can get myself a MK II with one of the rewards points schemes or around $700, as opposed to the brand new one at over $1000.

What do you think? Any advice gratefully accepted!
TwoDuck
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: Queensland

Re: Sony RX100

Postby rolfex » Fri 22 Apr, 2016 6:52 pm

There's lots of easy-to-read comparisons on the web, so I won't repeat the detail you can find there. For me the biggest useful difference is that the RX100M3 has a pop-up viewfinder and the M2 only has the back screen. So often in bright conditions it is difficult to see the screen, and by popping up the viewfinder I get a superb, clear view of exactly what I'm about to photograph. The big advantage of the M4 is that it can shoot 4K video, but I don't care much for that, so I'm happy with my M3!
rolfex
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: Victoria

Sony RX100

Postby GPSGuided » Fri 22 Apr, 2016 10:10 pm

May I chime in to say that $700 is a tad on the high side for a Mk2. Have a look on eBay and other online sources. One difference of the earlier models is the focal lengths, 28-100mm. Whilst it has a greater reach in the telephoto end (100mm), it's not as wide with the 28mm than the latest models (24mm-70mm). 24mm has a wider field of view than the 28mm. Which focal length range is better depends on one's personal photo taking preference and the subject. 24mm is a pretty good wide angle for nature scenes.