Feathertop Hike Plan - Beginner Suitable?

Victoria specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Victoria specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Feathertop Hike Plan - Beginner Suitable?

Postby Unsplash » Mon 08 Feb, 2021 4:42 pm

Hi All,

Just curious to get your thoughts on an absolute beginner attempting the following day hike in summer (not planning on overnights at this stage).

Harrietville to Mt Feathertop (Bungalow) to Bon Accord turn off (Razorback) and back to Harrietville (Bon Accord). By my calculations it'll be somewhere around 35km.

I'm relatively young and pretty fit. Recently I did 1,300m ascent and descent over 12kms (approx 22% gradient for the uphill sections) in 3 hours and found it pretty comfortable. It was 5 repeats of a hill, obviously not a perfect comparison but should provide a bit of a baseline for my fitness.

Wouldn't plan on doing this with rain forecasted (but would prepare for rain nonetheless). Would plan on carrying all water in case Fed Hut has none and to avoid detouring down NW Spur.

Cheers.

EDIT: Realised it was not explicit, but this would be solo.
Unsplash
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: Victoria

Re: Feathertop Hike Plan - Beginner Suitable?

Postby Lophophaps » Mon 08 Feb, 2021 5:47 pm