Snow walking basics

Bushwalking topics that are not location specific.
Forum rules
The place for bushwalking topics that are not location specific.

Snow walking basics

Postby russell2pi » Sun 06 Jan, 2013 2:27 pm

Hello all - what a pleasure to find this forum. I've been bushwalking for over 25 years but it did not occur to me that such a thing as a bushwalking forum would exist. I have found heaps of great information browsing the forum archives but would still appreciate some specific advice.

I would like to do some walking in Victorian Alps with snow cover. I would be doing this solo and on a very tight budget for gear (I can hear the mental buzzers going off already). I would also like to go overnight but inexperience, safety and budget might be the limiting factors there.

Where should I start? When's a good time to go, and where, and what to take? Are there some articles or books you can point me to? (I'm not a very social person and probably wouldn't be much of an asset to any club!)

All my bushwalking guide books always just take the easy way out and advise you to only go in summer time but I would really like to see the bush in winter beyond the resorts. I have no shortage of experience walking alone, trackless navigation etc but no relevant experience in snow conditions.

Thanks for advance for any pointers (other than "stay home until December!")
russell2pi
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: Victoria

Re: Snow walking basics

Postby MartyGwynne » Sun 06 Jan, 2013 4:26 pm

I was hoping to find you were asking about using snow shoes.
I have found walking in the snow a little difficult so am wanting to know a bit about snow shoes.
For snow walking I would ensure my tent is a good one recommended by others if you search through the posts about tents you will find the ones recommended.
Sleeping mats are also a busy topic for snow camping as per sleeping bags etc.